Skids - The Absolute Game

Skids - The Absolute Game

Original Release Date


Release Information

UK LP+12" 1980 (Virgin - V 2174 / VDJ 33)

A1 Circus Games 4:10
A2 Out Of Town 4:03
A3 Goodbye Civilian 4:15
A4 The Children Saw The Shame 3:40
A5 A Woman In Winter 5:40
B1 Hurry On Boys 3:42
B2 Happy To Be With You 3:36
B3 The Devils Decade 5:42
B4 One Decree 3:23
B5 Arena 5:10
Strength Through Joy
C1 An Incident In Algiers 3:55
C2 Grievance 2:58
C3 Strength Through Joy 1:59
C4 Filming Africa 3:39
D1 A Man For All Seasons 1:50
D2 Snakes And Ladders 4:01
D3 Surgical Triumph 2:13
D4 The Bell Jar 2:33


UK CD 2008 (Captain Oi! - AHOY CD 304)

1 Circus Games 4:10
2 Out Of Town 4:03
3 Goodbye Civilian 4:15
4 The Children Saw The Shame 3:40
5 A Woman In Winter 5:40
6 Hurry On Boys 3:42
7 Happy To Be With You 3:36
8 The Devils Decade 5:42
9 One Decree 3:23
10 Arena 5:10
11 Circus Games (7'' Single Version) 4:10
12 Goodbye Civilian (7'' Single Version) 3:31
13 Monkey McGuire Meets Specky Potter Behind Lochore Institute 2:55
14 An Incident In Algiers 3:55
15 Grievance 2:58
16 Strength Through Joy 1:59
17 Filming Africa 3:39
18 A Man For All Seasons 1:50
19 Snakes And Ladders 4:01
20 Surgical Triumph 2:13
21 The Bell Jar 2:33

Chart Placings

UK Chart Hit: 9, 5 wks


Richard Jobson - lead vocals, guitar
Stuart Adamson - lead & rhythm guitar, synthesizer, vocals, percussion
Russell Webb - bass, synthesizer, vocals, percussion – Russell Webb
Mike Baillie - drums, percussion, xylophone, vocals
Derek Wadsworth - didgeridoo

Produced and engineered by Mick Glossop for Dukeslodge Enterprises Ltd.
Recorded at The Manor and Audio International, Spring 1980
C1-D4 mixed by Chris Jenkins
C1-D4 produced by Skids; mixed by Skids and Chris Jenkins

Dedicated to the big boys who did it and ran away
Three down five to go

Reviews & Opinions

DAVID HEPWORTH, SMASH HITS, OCTOBER 2-15, 1980: Briefly, not as strong a record as Days In Europa. The elements are all there: the driving chorussing, the thick, ringing sound, the watertight arrangements and some fine, robust Stuart Adamson guitar. But for some reason sparks don't fly with the normal regularity and Richard Jobson's tendency to bury his meanings under layers of starchy word play is getting out of hand. Sound and fury, in this case, isn't quite enough. (6 out of 10).

Additional Notes

Tracks C1-D4 only came with the initial pressing


You can add stuff and make comments/corrections by emailing me at:


Back To Top