Various - NME / Rough Trade C81

Various - NME / Rough Trade C81

Original Release Date


Release Information

UK Tape 1981 (New Musical Express/Rough Tapes - COPY 001)

A1 Scritti Politti - The Sweetest Girl 6:09
A2 The Beat - Twist & Crawl Dub 4:58
A3 Pere Ubu - Misery Goats 2:26
A4 Wah! Heat - 7,000 Names Of Wah 3:57
A5 Orange Juice - Blue Boy 2:52
A6 Cabaret Voltaire - Raising The Count 3:32
A7 Deutsch Amerikanische Freundschaft - Kebab Trauma (Live) 3:50
A8 Furious Pig - Bare Pork 1:28
A9 The Specials - Raquel 1:56
[A9 on reissue: Panther Burns - Bourgeois Blues 3:24]
A10 Buzzcocks - I Look Alone 3:00
A11 Essential Logic - Fanfare In The Garden 3:00
A12 Robert Wyatt - Born Again Cretin 3:07
B1 The Raincoats - Shouting Out Loud 3:19
B2 Josef K - Endless Soul 2:27
B3 Blue Orchids - Low Profile 3:47
B4 Virgin Prunes - Red Nettle 2:13
B5 Aztec Camera - We Could Send Letters 4:57
B6 The Red Crayola - Milkmaid 2:01
B7 Linx - Don't Get In My Way 5:15
[B7 on reissue: Television Personalities - The Magnificent Dreams 3:30]
B8 John Cooper Clarke - The Day My Pad Went Mad 1:46
B9 James Blood Ulmer - Jazz Is The Teacher, Funk Is The Preacher 4:03
B10 Ian Dury - Close To Home 4:13
B11 The Gist - Greener Grass 2:32
B12 Subway Sect - Parallel Lines 2:38
B13 John Cooper Clarke - 81 Minutes 0:13 [not credited]

Chart Placings



A1: Engineered by The Skipper. Recorded Jan' 81.
A2: Produced by Bob Sargeant
A3: Recorded by Mike Bishop, Cleveland July 1980 and mixed at Suma.
A4: Recorded at SOS Liverpool. All guitars Pete Wiley, Bass – Washington, Drums, Jungle Beat Joe Musker, Synth King Bluff. Thanks to Peter Coleman
A5: Produced by Alex Fergusson and Orange Juice. Engineered by Calum Malcolm, April 1980.
A6: Produced by Kirk/Mallinder/Watson at Western Works, Jan 1981.
A7: Recorded at the Electric Ballroom, Feb 1980
A8: Engineered by Martin Frederix
A9: Produced by J. Dammers and D. Jordan, 1979
A10: Recorded by Martin Hannett and produced by Martin Rushent
A11: Produced by Phil, Lora and Adam Kidron. Recorded at Foel and mixed at Berry St. Engineered by Dave Anderson
A12: Double Bass – Peter Ind. Engineered by Ian Solomon
B1: Produced by The Raincoats and engineered by Adam Kidron
B2: Engineered by Calum Malcolm Produced by Josef K
B3: Produced by Blue Orchids and engineered by John Brierley at Cargo Studios. Keyboards/Vocals/Guitar – Martin. Bass Guitar – Rick. Drums – Ian
B4: Composed, arranged and produced by Virgin Prunes
B5: Produced by Malcolm Ross and Alan Horne. Engineered by Ron McLarty
B6: Written Art & Language/M. Thompson
B7: Produced by Bob Carter, David Grant, Peter Martin for The Solid Foundation
B8: Recorded live in a stupor.
B9: Written, arranged & produced by James Blood Ulmer
B10: Produced by Chaz Jenkel and Ian Dury, Jan 1977
B11: Stewart - Guitar, Drum Machine. Lewis - Bass, Organs. Produced by Stewart, Lewis, Dave Anderson, Philip at Foel Studios 1980
B12: "Dedicated to all those who hate radio one".

Alternative Credits for A9 and B7 on reissue:

A9: Recorded 12.3.81, Sam Phillips Co. Engineer Stan Kessler, Memphis, Tennessee
B7: Recorded at Starforce Studios, Battersea/Produced by Hector Munro/Engineered by Steve Warwick, Jan. 1981

Reviews & Opinions

None yet

Additional Notes

This mail order compilation was reissued later the same year for a conventional release (i.e. in shops) with two changes (see track listings).


Various - NME / Rough Trade C81 - UK Tape 1981 (New Musical Express/Rough Tapes - COPY 001)

Click here for more


You can add stuff and make comments/corrections by emailing me at:


Back To Top